Shiners News · Athletes Honored at Sports Banquet

The Rising Sun High School Athletic Department recognized all teams, players and coaches last night at the school’s annual year end sports banquet. During the 2017-18 year, the Shiners claimed shares of ORVC titles in girls soccer baseball, and Trevor Levi was the boys Sectional champion at the South Dearborn Cross Country Sectional. Lucy Carrigan and Brent Turner were recognized as the top senior athletes. Jayden McAlister and Trevor Levi were honored with the top academic awards for student-athletes. Receiving blankets for having 11 or more letters were: Kasey Baker, Chelsea Brown, Lucy Carrigan and Brent Turner. Receiving jackets for earning their 5th letter in multiple sports or 4th letter in one sport were: Francisco Cerecer, Riley Chipman, Emma Davis, Miranda Hall, Tiara Harrison, Nick Koons, Emma Levi, Kiera Mann, Sam Markland, Colton McKay, Jaydin Parsons, Lucy Phelps, Sydney Pitts, Kinsey Price, Kassidy Romans, Erica Schraeder, Kevin See, Allison Steele, Caleb Valentine and Brent Webb. Other award winners are listed below.


1st Year Letterwinners
Andrew Anglin
Riley Barth
Nicole Becker
Nya Bovard
Ashley Bowne
Chris Bowne
Cheney Bradford
Grace Bujak
Ana Castro
Landon Cole
Sam Copeland
Haley Davis
Owen Davis
Brian Givan
Emalee Halloran
Ben Lewis
Lura Little
Ryleigh McAlister
Tyrrah Miller
Lindsay Montgomery
Gavin Pater
Hannah Richards
Brady Russell
Chasity Smith
Dalton Snelling
Shelby Stogsdill
Kailyn Taylor
Ashlee Turner
Kiana Turner-Buschle
Dalton Vinup
Vada Walston
Hannah Warr
Haley White
Maddi Wilson
Logan Wismann

Kasey Baker – Cross Country and Soccer
Sydney Bostic – Softball
Jacob Bovard – Soccer and Baseball
Brayden Bush – Baseball
Lucy Carrigan – Basketball
Riley Chipman – Soccer and Track
Landon Cole – Soccer and Baseball
Daniel Daugherty – Track
Danyka Groover – Volleyball
Steven Jimenez – Baseball
Nick Koons – Cross Country and Basketball
Trevor Levi – Cross Country
Sam Markland – Golf
Matt Martini – Soccer
Lindsay Montgomery- Softball
Noah Pflum – Basketball
Lucy Phelps – Softball
Sydney Pitts – Soccer and  Softball
Kinsey Price – Soccer
Kassidy Romans – Softball
Caroline Stapleton – Volleyball
Brent Turner – Basketball, Baseball and Golf
Dalton Vinup – Cross Country

Team Awards

Girls Cross Country
Kasey Baker – MVP and Scoring Champion and Captain
Boys Cross Country
Trevor Levi – MVP, Scoring Champion, and Captain
Girls Soccer
Chelsea Brown – Co-Defensive MVP
Riley Chipman – Co-Defensive MVP
Sydney Pitts – Co-Offensive MVP
Kinsey Price – Co-Offensive MVP
Jayden McAlister – Captain
Boys Soccer
Colton McKay – Defensive MVP
Jake Bovard – Offensive MVP
Matt Martini – Captain
Sydney Bostic – Defensive MVP
Danyka Groover – Co-Offensive MVP
Caroline Stapleton – Co-Offensive MVP and Serving Award
Girls Basketball
Lucy Carrigan – MVP, Captain and Free Throw Award
Boys Basketball
Brent Turner – MVP
Noah Pflum – Captain
Nick Koons – Free Throw Award
Sydney Bostic – Co-Captain
Keira Oser – Co-Captain
Girls Track
Riley Chipman – MVP
Kinsey Price – Scoring Champion
Emma Davis – Captain
Boys Track
Trevor Levi – MVP
Daniel Daugherty – Scoring Champion
Colton McKay – Captain
Sydney Pitts – MVP
Lindsay Montgomery – Batting Champion
Sydney Bostic – Co-Captain
Caroline Stapleton – Co-Captain
Brayden Bush – Co-MVP
Brent Turner – Co-MVP
Jacob Bovard – Batting Champion
Jaydin Parsons – Captain
Sam Markland – MVP and Captain
Brent Turner – Medalist Champion